Goa unloaded…

It all started when my mother reminded me that I haven’t met her and dad for last six months. Well, I had my own excuses for not visiting their place, Vasmath (a small cute town in Maharashtra). I don’t like travelling to Vasmath not because it’s a small town but it takes 9 awful hours to reach there. And the bus service is as good as a father in law who had never approved your marriage!

As usual, my mother had a plan. (A mother is a necessity for an invention!) She asked me to come to Goa where they were going to spend their week-long vacation. I agreed to join them for a weekend.

According to my friend, Goa is known for 3 Bs. Lovely Beaches, gorgeous Babes and cheap Boozes.  I have been to Goa, thrice- for beaches and boozes…For the first time in my life, I was visiting Goa with the only intention of meeting my parents.

I checked in at Club Mahindra Resort on a Saturday morning. This resort is beautiful and has its own private beach. I’m not much into arts but I loved one of their restaurant’s architecture.

Club Mahindra Resort
Club Mahindra Resort
Italian Restuarant
Italian Restuarant

I was happy to see my parents after a long time. There were conversations. Some were funny, some were insightful and some were thought provoking. I have always enjoyed talking to my parents. It just gets me back on track. We chatted, we discussed and we listened to each other. I stopped contributing when my dad asked me about my marriage plans. That was too embarrassing!

Double bicycling!
Double bicycling!

The beach offered a stunning view. Be it any time. Morning, noon or night.

What a seat and what a view!
What a seat and what a view!
Just before sunset. A stunning view!
Just before sunset. A stunning view!

For the first time in my life, I went for a run on the beach.

A Perfect Run!
A Perfect Run!
A run on the beach!
A run on the beach!

With my new found love for running, this wasn’t a surprise. And it was awesome! Waves hitting the shore, sunset on the verge and a cooling breeze made it one of most beautiful runs I have taken till date. During a run of 60 odd minutes, I could witness couples holding hands, people doing Yoga, kids playing and few sitting in solitude. A beach is one of the very few places which can cater to variety of emotions, moods and people at the same time.

A perfect way to cool down after a run of 60 minutes!
A perfect way to cool down after a run of 60 minutes!
Swimming pool
Swimming pool

A pool at the resort was enticing. Floating in cool blue water, sipping my fruit punch and a soothing music in the background is all what was needed to make me feel relaxed and at peace. And boy, what a refreshment was it! First time, again!

When I was talking to my dad about all those things I did it for the first time in Goa, he shared one of his philosophies for life. It’s in a form of a question.

When was the last time you did something for the first time?

He said, “Prajakt, if you keep asking this question to yourself, you won’t ever get bored of life”. How true! This compelled me to jot down the list of things I did it for first time. There were quite a few to note-

  1. Visiting Goa for reasons other than 3 Bs.
  2. Taking a long run on the beach
  3. Floating in the pool doing nothing
  4. Riding a double bicycle with dad
  5. Completing a novel (50 shades of Grey) at 3:00 a.m. (Please refer to my previous blog, here.)
  6. And discussing (?) marriage plans with parents!!

So, let me ask you-

When was the last time you did something for the first time?

One of my favorites!
One of my favorites!

Disclaimer: I’m a rare, social and occasional drinker. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Goa unloaded…

  1. I can’t believe you had never ran on the beach before now and to go a full 60 minutes…great! Wonderful story and photos! To answer your question, I think I do something for the first time almost every day. Because when I go somewhere, I see something new, rather it be while hiking, a new tree I hadn’t noticed, or to a new shop. Hope your weekend is special! ~Sherry~

    1. Thank you Sherry! I used to go to beaches to relax, to lie down and to have some drinks. I never tried running on the beach. Now that I have, there are going to be more and more runs! Let’s keep doing something new!

Leave a Reply

